top of page

Murals in Mexico

The first year I visited mexico was in 2008. Among the many new and wonderful experiences I had that year was getting to know the town of San Pancho better by becoming a part of the art community. That year I created two murals, one with the local school children and one for the Dia de los Muertos. Since then I helped the school kids with a third mural in town. This mural is still featured on the main street of town by a really cool park the townspeople created for the kids out of recycled materials. Since I was there working with the turtle project I thought it would be a fitting theme. The experience was amazing. It was my first time working with a large group of children and I did not speak the same language at the time. I prepped the wall for the kids the day before and drew on an image for them to fill in. About 25 kids helped in all. The mural was a very unusual size size, about 2 feet tall by 30 feet long.

The boys

It turned into a wonderful fiasco of trying to mix up paint and distribute it in cups as fast as the kids were painting. I was very proud of them, and more importantly, they were proud of themselves. The mural was a good chance for the kids to be creative, have their own artwork on display for the entire town to see, and it helped in the education of the marine turtle.

Newest set 033.JPG
mexico mural.jpg

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
bottom of page